In an address to the nation, President Uhuru Kenyatta announced:

  • A ban on travel from any country that is known to have the virus
  • Any Kenyan or foreigner residing in Kenya would have to go into quarantine if they arrive from an affected country
  • The closure of all education institutions.

The Mbagathi Hospital in the capital city, Nairobi, has admitted 22 people who came into contact with the first confirmed case in Kenya, which was detected on March 6, 2020.

The Government is suspending travel for all individuals that are coming into Kenya from any other country with reported COVID-19 cases. Thus, they do not distinguish between high and low risk countries.
Kenyan citizens and any foreigners with valid residence permits will be allowed to enter the country, only if they proceed on going to a government quarantine facility or self-quarantine.

All Immigration services have been suspended for a period of 30 days.

This means no submissions, no collections, no visa extensions, no payment and no alien ID card is possible.

Foreigners who are currently in country and who’s Visa will expire in the next 30 days, can remain. Police and other officials are informed about this and were advised to be lenient to such foreigners.

All individuals that have entered the country since the end of February must self-quarantine.

Any public or private schools, as well as all Universities closed from last week Friday, until further notice.
On March 17, 2020 the Ministry of Health confirmed the fourth Coronavirus case in the country after a patient with a travel history to London tested positive.

The secretary of the Health Cabinet, Mutahi Kagwe, told reporters the patient had been isolated at a private hospital facility.

In total, over twenty suspected cases are still quarantined awaiting test results from the National Influenza Centre.