Mozambique: Visa-Exemption Tool

Which passport-holders can enter Mozambique without a Visa, for tourism or business?

New Countries that are Visa-Exempt in Mozambique

Mozambique’s Council of Ministers has granted visa exemption for tourism and business purposes to 28 countries. The exemption applies to visitors carrying ordinary passports and allows for a maximum stay of 30 days, which can be extended for an additional 60 days. Travelers must register on a pre-screening platform at least 48 hours before their travel and pay a processing fee.

You will need to present 3 documents:

  • Valid passport for another 6 months
  • Copy return flight
  • Proof hotel booking

This decision follows the launch of a pre-authorisation platform last December, which has reportedly led to a 30% increase in the number of travelers visiting Mozambique. The eVisa platform aims to respond to applications within five days, with an average response time of 24 hours, and issues usually arise from users failing to upload the required documentation.

The visa exemption is part of the Economic Acceleration Measures Package (PAE), proposed by President Nyusi in August 2022, which seeks to make Mozambique more accessible and competitive.

List of Countries

Here is the list of newly added countries:

  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • China
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Ivory Coast
  • Japan
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Spain

Frequently Asked Questions

Diplomatic, Official, Service and Special Passports have different durations of stay, some that do not include Visa Exemption.