On Thursday the 11th of November, South Africa’s Minister of Finance announced that the planned e-visa system, first announced in 2019, will be ready for rollout to 15 countries in March 2022. Minister Enoch Godongwana made the announcement during his Medium-Term Budget Policy Statement (MTBPS). In this video, our CEO Andreas Krensel discusses the planned e-visa system for South Africa, which documents you will need to apply, and which countries will be eligible shortly. 

What does this mean for keen travellers looking to discover this exquisite country? Currently, the system has been activated for travellers from Kenya and India. The e-visa is applicable for tourism purposes only.

In 2022, residents from previously visa-exempt countries will be allowed to apply for the South African e-visa. While our borders are officially open, it is imperative that tourists understand this is not without conditions and mandatory quarantine periods and/or the submission of a negative Covid-19 test will be necessary for entry.

While the obvious positive outcome to this would be a convenient 20-minute online application from wherever you are, South Africans will benefit greatly from a successful e-visa system rollout, considering the damage the pandemic has done to the tourism sector. 

We look forward to welcoming tourists from China, Cameroon, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Mexico, Uganda, Saudi Arabia, Iran, the Philippines, Pakistan, India and Kenya in the new year!

If you’re still unsure as to whether you qualify or if you have any other visa-related questions, CONTACT US to enquire how we can provide Immigration Solutions catered to your needs.

Stay updated with Immigration News from Africa by signing up for our newsletter HERE.